Karibbean Music Kommunity

Caribbean Entertainment Forum

Global Metal Scene Report #4 Caribbean

Kull

Global Metal Scene Report #4 Caribbean

Post  Kull on Tue Oct 04, 2011 1:04 pm

http://www.therabbitmusic.com/2011/10/04/global-metal-scene-report-4-caribbean/

Discuss!? Neutral

i spoke to Sievan Siewsarran of Trinidadian band Lynchpin, Willem Kamps of Curacao band Undercover and Emdeka Anubis of Barbadian band Conrad.

1. How long has the Caribbean Metal scene been going and who was the first band?

SS: Tricky question… I am unsure of the exact band names and dates… maybe more like the 1970’s… Bands like Warhead, Bloodshed, Transylvania Zoo, etc.

WK: Metal started to come around in the Caribbean about 25 years ago. One of the very first bands on Curacao anyway were “Sardonic” and “Aggressive Solution”, the latter being more New York Hardcore than Metal.

EA: I have very little knowledge on such things (they’re not remotely important to me). However, I can say that DARK CIRCUS (now ORISHA SHAKPANA) was the first metal output from Jamaica, and CONRAD; the first from Barbados.

2. Which Caribbean Metal scene is the most successful and how big is the overall regional scene?

SS: TRINIDAD & TOBAGO!!! Hands down, we have an avid scene, more genres and fans of Rock, from Alternative to Black metal!!!

WK: That’s hard to say. There’s not much communication between the scenes on the different islands. As Caribbean music is most popular, Metal is very underground on most islands. Most islands are small so there aren’t as many bands as for instance in Europe. That’s why when something is organized, there’s no strict distinction being made between different genres. It’s common to see a punk band open the show followed by a Deathcore act and it ends with a Thrash band for example.